Sex crimes and Virginia: "Unknown" charges could lead to harsh penalties

Some lesser known sex crime charges in Virginia can come with serious penalties, including up to 20 years imprisonment.

Getting charged with a sex crime in Virginia can lead to harsh penalties. Although certain crimes like rape, sexual assault and prostitution are fairly well known, there are other "unknown" charges that can also lead to costly monetary fines and imprisonment. Every state has laws addressing these crimes. As a result, each state can have some unique charges. In Virginia, some of the less known sex crime charges include:

  • Indecent liberties. This crime involves sexual contact between a custodian over the age of 18 and a child under the age of 18. Conviction of a first offense results in a Class 6 felony, a second offense a Class 5 felony.
  • Carnal knowledge. There are two crimes that can fall into this category: carnal knowledge of a child between 13 and 15 years of age and carnal knowledge of certain minors. The first refers to consensual sexual acts between a child ranging in age from 13 to 15. If there is less than three years separating the child and accused, the accused faces a Class 4 misdemeanor. If there is more than three years separating the child and accused, the accused faces a Class 6 felony. The second refers to juveniles over the age of 15 that are detained in certain facilities or have escaped from confinement, detention or custody of the Department of Juvenile Justice.
  • Crimes against nature. The first portion of this charge involves those who have sexual relations with animals. This can lead to a Class 6 felony. The second portion involves performing or allowing the performance of sexual relations upon the daughter, son, grandchild, sibling or parent of the accused. This can lead to a Class 5 felony. However, if the child is between the ages of 13 and 18 a Class 3 felony applies.

A few of the penalties associated with above mentioned convictions include:

  • Class 6 felony. A class 6 felony can result in up to five years imprisonment and a monetary fine of $2,500.
  • Class 5 felony. This conviction comes with up to ten years imprisonment and a fine of up to $2,500.
  • Class 3 felony. Up to 20 years imprisonment and a fine of up to $100,000.

It is important for those who are charged with these or a similar sex crime to be aware of the fact that defenses are available. If you are wrongly accused of a crime, contact an experienced sex crime lawyer. This legal professional will advocate for your rights, working to better ensure a more favorable outcome.

Keywords: criminal defense sex crimes